Duke Medical Center Library & Archives News Category: Databases

We’re excited to introduce a fresh new look for our library’s database & e-book collection pages! Designed with simplicity and usability in mind, our updated pages make it easier than ever to explore and access the resources you need. 

Here’s what’s new: 

• Organized by Subject: Quickly find resources relevant to your field by using the subject drop-down menus—perfect for zeroing in on resources tailored to specific academic or research areas. 
• Search by Name or Keyword: Know exactly what you’re looking for? Just type it into the search bar and get instant results. 
• Clean and User-Friendly Design: Our new layout is designed to simplify your search, giving you a streamlined view of our resources. …

Categories: Databases

Tags: research, for researchers, students, medical education

We are experiencing inconsistent access issues with SAGE titles

There have been inconsistencies in accessing SAGE titles. If you are experience access problems, please connect to Duke Health VPN and then try access the resource again. 

We are actively working to resolve the issue. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your patience. If you continue to experience difficulties, please submit a ticket through our Report an Access Issue Form. For urgent help, please call 919.660.1100 and we will try to respond within 24 hours.

Categories: Databases, Resource Outages

Tags: off-campus access

Subscription codes for the Lexidrug app (formerly Lexicomp) expire yearly at the end of August. To continue using the app, you must add the new authorization code to your account. Go to Lexidrug and click on the Mobile App Access button. Select your platform and indicate if you are a new or existing customer (those who already have the app installed) for instructions on adding the new code to your subscription.  If you have any issues installing or updating the software, contact the Lexidrug Technical Support Dept at 1.866.397.3433 (option 3) or email them at support@lexi.com. You can also…

Categories: Alerts, Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: lexidrug, Lexicomp, mobile apps

Seeking quick and reliable answers to your clinical questions? Look no further than the library’s Clinical Tools page! Here you will find a handy list of links to point-of-care resources, decision-support tools, core eBooks, guidelines, and patient education information.

Some of these include:

• DynaMed, which provides evidence-based clinical information concerning diseases, drugs, and other therapies that is highly useful when making decisions about patient care.
• The ability to craft a single search for your patient’s problem/…

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: DynaMed Plus, NNT

The Medical Center Library & Archives is pleased to announce a year-long trial of OMMBID (The Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease), an online resource offering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. The trial began July 1, 2024.

Based on Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, this regularly updated online resource provides the latest developments on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of inherited diseases, along with updates on pathophysiology and treatment.

This searchable resource features thousands of high-quality images illustrating topics such as protein interactions…

Categories: Databases

With more than 3.3 million apps in the Google Play store, it can be tough to figure out which apps are worth your time and/or money. First stop by the Library's Mobile Apps guide to see the health-related apps you can get through Duke or read on to hear about some of the best apps!

Our most popular point-of-care apps include UpToDate and DynaMed, which feature an impressive variety of medical calculators and clinical evidence. We are thrilled to offer both products as they differ in the specialties they cover as well as how they organize their content. DynaMed offers specialties such as Neonatology, Neurosurgery, Occupational Medicine, Ophthalmology, Oral…

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools

Tags: mobile apps, UpToDate, DynaMed, Lexicomp, visualdx

Seeking quick and reliable answers to your clinical questions? Look no further than the Library’s Clinical Tools page! Here you will find a handy list of links to point-of-care resources, decision-support tools, core eBooks, guidelines, and patient education information.

Some of these include:

• DynaMed, which provides evidence-based clinical information concerning diseases, drugs, and other therapies that is highly useful when making decisions about patient care.
• …

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: DynaMed, UpToDate, visualdx

Lexicomp is now known as Lexidrug™! 

Lexidrug, through the UpToDate® suite of tools, is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provide robust clinical drug information. The home screen provides you quick access to Lexidrug content via a global search or through their clinical tools. The blue clinical tool bar at the top of the database still connects you directly to individual clinical decision support tools such as Trissel's IV Compatability, Drug Identifier, Interactions, Calculators, and more. The mobile app is still available, see our Mobile Apps guide for more information!

NOTE: The…

Categories: Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: Lexicomp, drugs, lexidrug

Ready to learn some new skills or approaches to your research? Check out our class schedule! We offer a variety of online classes related to database searching, systematic reviews, writing abstracts, publishing, citation management, research impact, and more. To find class details, dates, and registration information Click here. 

Let us help you work smarter, not harder!

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

*Image credit: Online Learning by sripfoto from NounProject.com

Categories: Classes, Databases

Tags: publishing, pubmed, scopus, cinahl, endnote, zotero, abstracts, searching

Did you know that you can use the images from VisualDx in presentations? Because our Library is an institutional subscriber, you may copy or link to VisualDx Images and illustrations for your clinical or educational use including consulting with individual colleagues, for patient education, and lectures or other teaching material presented within our institution.

Educational material containing VisualDx images and illustrations, including course lectures and handouts, may be added to centralized, institutional learning management systems (e.g., Canvas). VisualDx images and illustrations must remain within the context of access-controlled, specific course material within our…

Categories: Databases

Tags: visualdx

Graduation is an important and exciting time of change for many students. Sadly, one of these changes may involve losing access to many Duke resources such as library subscriptions to journals and databases.

Before You Lose Access

• Go through your saved citations and PDFs and decide which ones you want to keep. If there are any articles that you would like to get PDFs for, do this before you leave while you still have access to free full text.
• Evaluate your citation manager needs before you leave. If you are using Endnote, double-check that you have the most current version on a personal device. This access will last you for a couple years, but you will have to repurchase it at some…

Categories: Databases

Tags: citation management, reference management, open access

The Medical Center Library & Archives has many hidden gems, including several online collections that contain procedural videos. You'll find these videos in online sources like AccessMedicine's videos, Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy, ClinicalKey's videos, and Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination. We have put together an …

Categories: Databases

Tags: clinicalkey, bates

The Medical Center Library & Archives is pleased to provide access to several excellent McGraw Hill products, including AccessMedicine, AccessSurgery (two year trial), the Case Files Collection, and JAMAevidence. These products not only connect you to core electronic textbooks, but also provide unique educational materials like study tools and quizzes, infographics, drug information, multimedia…

Categories: Databases

We are pleased to announce a two-year trial of AccessSurgery, an integrated online surgery resource that enhances knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries. The trial began in June 2023.

AccessSurgery features:

• Leading surgical textbooks
• Instructional videos
• 16,000+ high quality full-color images
• Interactive Board Revieis w
• Integrated Drug Database
• Clerkship Corner

AccessSurgery is searchable directly but is also accessible from our…

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Each year, Duke Medical Center Library & Archives evaluates its electronic subscriptions using a data-driven process to ensure good stewardship of our collection funds. While actively reviewing our resources, we strive to provide those that serve the needs of Duke Health and Duke University and sometimes that requires canceling underused resources.

Effective May 31,2023, Duke University users no longer have access to AccessAnesthesiology. We made this decision after carefully examining its usage data over several years. Users will still have access to selective titles previously available in AccessAnesthesiology through our subscription to McGraw-Hill.

If you need a resource that is not available at Duke, you may…

Categories: Alerts, Databases