Databases

Legend
= Requires Duke VPN
= Login with NetID
No Icon = Publicly Available
A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | L | M | N | O | P | R | S | T | U | W | Z

Pages

Produced by the American Board of Medical Specialties, this Website contains biographical and professional information on physicians who have met the certification requirements of their respective medical specialty boards.  

Access:

ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Access to medical titles with information for completing evaluations, diagnoses, case management decisions, research pursuits, medical education, self-assessment, and board reviews.

Access:

Access Medicine

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Series of anatomy lessons on video using unembalmed human specimens to illustrate anatomical structures.

Access:

Acland's Video Atlas of Anatomy Online

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Original studies and systematic reviews to help physicians keep pace with important advances in internal medicine.

Access:

ACP Journal Club

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Authoritative recommendations on current surgical care from master surgeons. Includes drawings, graphs, photos, and decision-making algorithms.

Access:

ACS Surgery

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Multi-disciplinary coverage of African medicine, politics, history, economics, business, social issues, law, and more.

Access:

Africa-Wide: NiPAD

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Bibliographic references and original abstracts for materials related to aging and middle age.

Access:

Ageline

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Publications and resources for all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

Access:

Agricola

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Links to 4 databases: ETHXWeb - Range of topics and issuses in bioethics; GenETHX - Ethical issues related to human genetics; Syllabus Exchange Database - Syllabi and course outlines at different levels of instruction; and International Bioethics Organizations - Information and access to bioethics centers and organizations.

Access:

Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University

Help:

Ask a Librarian

A new tool that searches across many different biomedical sciences databases and resources and returns results on one search page!

Access:

BioMedSearcher

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Full-text articles from journals and bulletins published by the American Institute of Biological Sciences and other related organizations.

Access:

BioOne

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Life sciences and biomedical research from journals, meetings, patents, and books.

Access:

Biosis

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Access to biological systems and their component genes, proteins, and small molecules.

Access:

BioSystems

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Finds regions of local similarity between nucleotide or protein sequences.

Access:

BLAST (Basic Local Alignment Search Tool)

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Searchable electronic versions of clinical reference texts.

Access:

Books@Ovid

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.

Access:

Bookshelf

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Provides bibliographic data, full-length author abstracts, and cited references for peer-reviewed journals.

Access:

Citation Indexes (Web of Science)

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Searches across key clinical resources: UpToDate, MD Consult, Nursing Consult, ACP Journal Club, PubMed, Lexicomp, Clinical Pharmacology, and MedlinePlus

Access:

Clinical Searcher

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Online search tool for e-books, journals, Procedures Consult, First Consult, surgical Vitals and other clinical information.
Please note: This database replaces MD Consult.
To access PDF files for E-books, you must register for and login to a personal account. Click here to create a FREE user profile. If you get a session time out message while searching ClinicalKey, please close or refresh your browser and try your search again.

Access:

ClinicalKey (login for E-Book PDFs)

Help:

Ask a Librarian

Pages

Library Hours

Contact Us