Duke Medical Center Library & Archives Blog
Tag: guide

Life After Duke
Posted On: Wednesday, May 4, 2022 - 09:27 by Leila Ledbetter

Graduation is an important and exciting time of change for many students. Sadly, one of these changes may involve losing access to many Duke resources such as library subscriptions to journals and databases.

Before You Lose Access

  • Go through your saved citations and PDFs and decide which ones you want to keep. If there are any articles that you would like to get PDFs for, do this before you leave while you still have access to free full text.
  • Evaluate your citation manager needs before you leave. If you are using Endnote, double-check that you have the most current version on a personal device. This access will last you for a couple years, but you…
MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: citation management, reference management, guide, open access, paywall, students

Altmetric Explorer for Institutions is Back!
Posted On: Monday, November 20, 2017 - 19:03 by Beverly Murphy

The institutional version of Altmetic Explorer, which allows the ability to search for verified research outputs by institution, department, authors, etc., has been funded through October 2018.

To learn more about Altmetric tools, connect to our Publication Metrics: Almetrics Guide.

Categories: Alerts, Databases

Tags: altmetrics, guide

Patient Health Information
Posted On: Wednesday, November 1, 2017 - 10:18 by Jesse Akman

As we head into the holiday season, many of us may eat too much food and have health related questions.  The Library wants to help!  When your great aunt has a question about her indigestion, check out our Consumer/Patient Health Guide which highlights resources such as:

  • MedlinePlus for health topics, drug and supplement information, and even tutorials and videos
  • KidsHealth for pediatric information about everything from diseases & conditions to growth and development
  • The Merck Manual for pill identifiers, news, procedures and more

And finally,…

MORE

Categories: Resource Updates

Tags: health literacy, guide

Test Instruments Guide
Posted On: Wednesday, July 26, 2017 - 15:26 by Jesse Akman

One of the many challenges faced when beginning a project is finding and selecting appropriate test instruments. Our handy Test Instruments Guide can be used to navigate the process. It includes both online and print resources and provides search tips for finding specific instruments. Sample resources include:

MORE

Categories: Resource Updates

Tags: test instruments, for researchers, research, guide

New Archives Guide
Posted On: Wednesday, April 17, 2013 - 17:51 by Beverly Murphy

The Duke University Medical Center Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to materials documenting the history of the DUMC community, from the 1930s to the present. This new guide provides a brief overview of the Archives, including information about the collections, how to find items, as well as suggestions of other helpful resources.

Categories: Resource Updates

Tags: guide, archives

New Guide Available: Enhance Your Research Impact
Posted On: Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 15:31 by Adrianne Leonardelli

"Research impact is the demonstrable contribution that excellent research makes to society and the economy. It embraces all the diverse ways that research-related skills benefit individuals, organisations and nations." Research Councils UK (RCUK)

The Library has developed a new guide, "Enhance Your Research Impact," to help researchers quantify and improve their research impact!

It is important that researchers know their impact as it can help:

  • Support applications for tenure or promotion
  • Justify requests for grants and other funding
  • Quantify and determine how their research is being used…
MORE

Tags: guide, research