Duke Medical Center Library & Archives Blog
Category: Databases

OMMBID Trial Begins
Posted On: Tuesday, July 16, 2024 - 08:42 by Li Ma

The Medical Center Library & Archives is pleased to announce a year-long trial of OMMBID (The Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease), an online resource offering comprehensive coverage of the genes and genetic mechanisms underlying human disease states. The trial begins July 1, 2024.

Based on Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease, this regularly updated online resource provides the latest developments on the metabolic and molecular underpinnings of inherited diseases, along with updates on pathophysiology and treatment.

This searchable resource features thousands of high-quality images illustrating topics such as protein interactions and genetic modeling. It is an essential tool for geneticists, researchers, students, clinicians, and…

MORE

Categories: Databases

Mobile Apps from the Medical Center Library
Posted On: Thursday, June 27, 2024 - 14:17 by Brandi Tuttle

With more than 3.3 million apps in the Google Play store, it can be tough to figure out which apps are worth your time and/or money. First stop by the Library's Mobile Apps guide to see the health-related apps you can get through Duke or read on to hear about some of the best apps!

Our most popular point-of-care apps include UpToDate and DynaMed, which feature an impressive variety of medical calculators and clinical evidence. We are thrilled to offer both products as they differ in the specialties they cover as well as how they organize their content. DynaMed offers specialties such as Neonatology, Neurosurgery, Occupational Medicine, Ophthalmology, Oral…

MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools

Tags: mobile apps, UpToDate, DynaMed, Lexicomp, visualdx

Clinical Tools: A Quick Connection to the Evidence
Posted On: Monday, June 10, 2024 - 12:18 by Sarah Cantrell

Seeking quick and reliable answers to your clinical questions? Look no further than the Library’s Clinical Tools page! Here you will find a handy list of links to point-of-care resources, decision-support tools, core eBooks, guidelines, and patient education information.

Some of these include:

  • DynaMed, which provides evidence-based clinical information concerning diseases, drugs, and other therapies that is highly useful when making decisions about patient care.
MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: DynaMed, UpToDate, visualdx

Lexicomp Updates
Posted On: Friday, June 7, 2024 - 15:32 by Brandi Tuttle

Lexicomp is now known as Lexidrug™! 

Lexidrug, through the UpToDate® suite of tools, is a collection of content sets and clinical tools that provide robust clinical drug information. The home screen provides you quick access to Lexidrug content via a global search or through their clinical tools. The blue clinical tool bar at the top of the database still connects you directly to individual clinical decision support tools such as Trissel's IV Compatability, Drug Identifier, Interactions, Calculators, and more. The mobile app is still available, see our Mobile Apps guide for more information!

NOTE: The…

MORE

Categories: Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: Lexicomp, drugs

Spring Classes!
Posted On: Thursday, April 25, 2024 - 14:57 by Brandi Tuttle

Ready to learn some new skills or approaches to your research? Check out our class schedule! We offer a variety of online classes related to database searching, systematic reviews, writing abstracts, publishing, citation management, research impact, and more. To find class details, dates, and registration information Click here

Let us help you work smarter, not harder!

Questions? Ask a Librarian!

*Image credit: Online Learning by sripfoto from NounProject.com

Categories: Classes, Databases

Tags: publishing, pubmed, scopus, cinahl, endnote, zotero, abstracts, searching

Using VisualDx Images
Posted On: Wednesday, April 24, 2024 - 10:42 by Sarah Cantrell

Did you know that you can use the images from VisualDx in presentations? Because our Library is an institutional subscriber, you may copy or link to VisualDx Images and illustrations for your clinical or educational use including consulting with individual colleagues, for patient education, and lectures or other teaching material presented within our institution.

Educational material containing VisualDx images and illustrations, including course lectures and handouts, may be added to centralized, institutional learning management systems (e.g., Canvas). VisualDx images and illustrations must remain within the context of access-controlled, specific course material within our…

MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: visualdx

Life After Duke
Posted On: Monday, April 22, 2024 - 09:27 by Leila Ledbetter

Graduation is an important and exciting time of change for many students. Sadly, one of these changes may involve losing access to many Duke resources such as library subscriptions to journals and databases.

Before You Lose Access

  • Go through your saved citations and PDFs and decide which ones you want to keep. If there are any articles that you would like to get PDFs for, do this before you leave while you still have access to free full text.
  • Evaluate your citation manager needs before you leave. If you are using Endnote, double-check that you have the most current version on a personal device. This access will last you for a couple years, but you will have to repurchase it at some…
MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: citation management, reference management, open access

Procedural Videos Available
Posted On: Wednesday, January 24, 2024 - 13:22 by Sarah Cantrell

The Medical Center Library & Archives has many hidden gems, including several online collections that contain procedural videos. You'll find these videos in online sources like AccessMedicine's videos, Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy, ClinicalKey's videos, and Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination. We have put together an

MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: clinicalkey, bates

Spotlight on AccessMedicine, AccessSurgery, Case Files, and JAMAevidence
Posted On: Friday, August 25, 2023 - 10:08 by Sarah Cantrell

The Medical Center Library & Archives is pleased to provide access to several excellent McGraw Hill products, including AccessMedicine, AccessSurgery (two year trial), the Case Files Collection, and JAMAevidence. These products not only connect you to core electronic textbooks, but also provide unique educational materials like study tools and quizzes, infographics, drug information, multimedia…

MORE

Categories: Databases

AccessSurgery Trial Begins
Posted On: Thursday, July 6, 2023 - 12:21 by Beverly Murphy

We are pleased to announce a two-year trial of AccessSurgery, an integrated online surgery resource that enhances knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries. The trial began in June 2023.

AccessSurgery features:

  • Leading surgical textbooks
  • Instructional videos
  • 16,000+ high quality full-color images
  • Interactive Board Revieis w
  • Integrated Drug Database
  • Clerkship Corner

AccessSurgery is searchable directly but is also accessible from our…

MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

AccessAnesthesiology Cancelled
Posted On: Thursday, June 1, 2023 - 09:41 by Li Ma

Each year, Duke Medical Center Library & Archives evaluates its electronic subscriptions using a data-driven process to ensure good stewardship of our collection funds. While actively reviewing our resources, we strive to provide those that serve the needs of Duke Health and Duke University and sometimes that requires canceling underused resources.

Effective May 31,2023, Duke University users no longer have access to AccessAnesthesiology. We made this decision after carefully examining its usage data over several years. Users will still have access to selective titles previously available in AccessAnesthesiology through our subscription to McGraw-Hill.

If you need a resource that is not available at Duke, you may…

MORE

Categories: Alerts, Databases

Check Out Our New Database Search Tips Guide!
Posted On: Friday, May 26, 2023 - 17:30 by Brandi Tuttle

The Library has just rolled out a new guide highlighting some of our most commonly used databases. No matter whether you are answering clinical questions, seeking drug information, conducting research, or looking into your research impact, the guide will provide useful tips on selecting the correct database and getting started with the search. There is also some general information on how to get started with your search, the types of literature reviews, full text retrieval, and how to get more help from a Librarian. 

Check it out and let us know what you think!  Happy Searching!

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: searching

We Are Now Subscribed to VisualDx
Posted On: Monday, April 10, 2023 - 10:41 by Sarah Cantrell

The Medical Center Library & Archives is pleased to announce that we now have a subscription to VisualDx, a clinical point-of-care tool, educational resource, and decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. After being on trial for almost a year, we appreciate your feedback in helping us to make this decision.

For those of you who may be unfamiliar with this resource, it is:

  • Renowned for its depth of diverse clinical images – 14,000+ images of variations in skin color
  • A valuable diagnostic clinical tool that helps you build a differential diagnosis
  • Useful for…
MORE

Categories: Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: visualdx

Meet the Health Poll Database!
Posted On: Monday, March 13, 2023 - 10:12 by Samantha Kaplan, Ph.D.

If you’re looking for individual attitudes and opinions on health topics, we’ve got a tool for that! The Health Poll Database, produced by the Roper Center, provides a searchable interface of thousands of health-related polls conducted in the United States in the last 80 years! Downloadable datasets are also available in many file formats (including Stata, ASCII, and SPSS). Cross-tabs and frequency distribution charts are included in results with easy access to graphics for presentations. Health topics include insurance, health care, social determinants and many more.

Categories: Databases

VisualDx User Experience
Posted On: Friday, January 13, 2023 - 09:51 by Katherine Smith

We are midway through our yearlong trial of VisualDx, a clinical tool designed to visually represent variations of diseases, enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid in therapeutic decisions, and improve patient care. VisualDx’s 14,000+ diverse images and differential building tool have proven useful in both clinical and educational settings, and its welcoming tile grid invites users to easily and quickly interact. If you haven’t had time to explore VisualDx personally, helpful videos are available on YouTube, like how to Build a Differential.

According to an article in…

MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: visualdx