Duke Medical Center Library & Archives
Category: Databases

VisualDx Trial Begins
Posted On: Wednesday, September 21, 2022 - 09:36 by Sarah Cantrell

The Medical Center Library & Archives is pleased to announce a yearlong trial of visualDx, a clinical point-of-care tool, educational resource, and decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. The trial began in July 2022.

For those of you just meeting visualDx, this resource is:

  • Renowned for its depth of diverse clinical images – 14,000+ images of variations in skin color
  • A valuable diagnostic clinical tool that helps you build a differential diagnosis
  • Useful for...
MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: visualdx, images

Mobile Apps from the Medical Center Library
Posted On: Friday, August 26, 2022 - 14:17 by Brandi Tuttle

With nearly 2 million apps in the Apple App store alone, it can be tricky to figure out which apps are worth your time and/or money. Before you go hunting in the App or Play Store, don’t forget about the health-related apps you can get through Duke. You can visit our Mobile Apps guide to get started or read on for some highlights!

Our most popular point-of-care apps include UpToDate and DynaMed, which feature an impressive variety of medical calculators and clinical evidence. Did you know that you can get CME/CE from both UpToDate and DynaMed? These will fulfill MOC CME requirements of some ABMS Member Boards including the ABIM.

Lexicomp...

MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools

Tags: mobile apps, visualdx, UpToDate, DynaMed, Lexicomp

Clinical Tools: A Quick Connection to the Evidence
Posted On: Tuesday, June 21, 2022 - 12:18 by Sarah Cantrell

Seeking quick and reliable answers to your clinical questions? Look no further than the Library’s Clinical Tools page! Here you will find a handy list of links to point-of-care resources, decision-support tools, core eBooks, guidelines, and patient education information.

Some of these include:

  • DynaMed, which provides evidence-based clinical information concerning diseases, drugs, and other therapies that is highly useful when making decisions about patient care.
  • The ability to craft a single search for your patient’s problem/intervention...
MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: DynaMed, UpToDate

Springer Experiments & Protocols Available
Posted On: Friday, May 27, 2022 - 00:59 by Anu Moorthy

The following Springer resources are accessible from the Databases, Journals & Books section of our Website.

Springer Nature Experiments

  • New research solution to help researchers find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods to support their projects
  • Covers a number of disciplines including biochemistry, biotechnology, cancer research, genetics/genomics, pharmacology/toxicology, plant science, and more
  • Combines the key features of a database with indexing and discovery features supported by laboratory procedure specific functionalities
  • Retrieves...
MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: for researchers

Life After Duke
Posted On: Wednesday, May 4, 2022 - 09:27 by Leila Ledbetter

Graduation is an important and exciting time of change for many students. Sadly, one of these changes may involve losing access to many Duke resources such as library subscriptions to journals and databases.

Before You Lose Access

  • Go through your saved citations and PDFs and decide which ones you want to keep. If there are any articles that you would like to get PDFs for, do this before you leave while you still have access to free full text.
  • Evaluate your citation manager needs before you leave. If you are using Endnote, double-check that you have the most current version on a personal device. This access will last you for a couple years, but you...
MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: citation management, reference management, guide, open access, paywall, students

Preprints Now Available in Embase!
Posted On: Wednesday, January 5, 2022 - 10:20 by Lesley Skalla

Embase has ventured into the world of preprints by now providing article preprints from medRXiv and bioRXiv.

Preprints are early versions of manuscripts that are shared on public preprint servers prior to peer review and publication. 

The benefit to you is earlier access to biomedical information including randomized controlled trials which might be included for systematic reviews as grey literature. Keep in mind that preprints are not peer-reviewed and therefore should be used with caution. 

Embase clearly identifies an article as a preprint on the publication record. When doing...

MORE

Categories: Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: embase, preprint

New Resource - Clinical Pharmacology
Posted On: Tuesday, December 14, 2021 - 08:38 by Sarah Cantrell

Clinical Pharmacology, powered by ClinicalKey, is a comprehensive drug reference that supports healthcare professionals and health professions' students by providing current, accurate, and clinically relevant drug information.

The Clinical Pharmacology suite of resources includes:

  • Drug monographs - detailed drug information for U.S. prescription drugs, herbal supplements, nutritional, vitamin and over-the-counter products
  • Drug class overviews - to guide formulary drug reviews and therapeutic substitutions
  • Additional lists, such as - drugs not recommended for...
MORE

Categories: Databases, Explore Tools, Resource Updates

Tags: clinical pharmacology, clinicalkey

Natural Medicines: Complementary & Alternative Therapies
Posted On: Friday, October 29, 2021 - 16:49 by Brandi Tuttle

The Natural Medicines database offers information to help you make evidence-based decisions regarding alternative therapies including:

  • 1400+ monographs with safety, effectiveness, adverse effects, and patient education handouts
  • 170,000+ commercial products including their ingredients, effectiveness, safety, etc
  • Natural Medicines Brand Evidence-based Rating (NMBER) based on safety and efficacy, with a 1-10 overall rating for products, helping you determine "Is it safe?" and "Does it work?"
  • Interaction checker to avoid drug/supplement interactions
  • Pregnancy & Lactation Checker plus links to patient education handouts
  • Nutrient Depletion...
MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: alternative medicine, complementary therapy, supplements

Check out ClinicalKey's Enhancements
Posted On: Tuesday, September 28, 2021 - 16:38 by Brandi Tuttle

Have you noticed the newly designed front page for ClinicalKey? There have been some massive changes to the resource beyond just a facelift. Read on for more info and tips to get the most out of this great resource!

First, in case you are unfamiliar, Elsevier’s ClinicalKey is a medical search engine that gives you access to:

  • Full-text reference books (over a 1000!) and journals including top titles such as Gray’s Anatomy, Goldman’s Cecil Medicine, Braunwald’s Heart Disease, The Lancet and Mayo Clinic Proceedings
  • Clinical Overviews that provide succinct, easy-to-navigate summaries for quick answers
  • Drug monographs
  • Clinical calculators
  • Practice guidelines
  • Customizable patient education handouts
  • Drug indications, do not...
MORE

Categories: Alerts, Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: clinicalkey, textbooks, e-books, images, calculators

New PubMed Interface Has Launched
Posted On: Wednesday, May 6, 2020 - 21:57 by Sarah Cantrell

PubMed has switched to its newly designed search interface (click to connect)

Interested in learning more about the new interface? Sign up to attend one of our webinars!

New interface features include:

  • Ability to cite references quickly in your preferred citation style format (AMA, APA, NLM, or MLA);
  • Option to share references via social media or a permalink;
  • A seamless search experience on your mobile device;
  • Search results sorted by best match by...
MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: pubmed

New Medical Subject Headings
Posted On: Wednesday, December 18, 2019 - 13:02 by Samantha Kaplan

New year, new MeSH!

The National Library of Medicine (NLM) has added over 200 new terms to the Medical Subject Headings thesaurus, more commonly known as MeSH! MeSH terms help organize MEDLINE literature via standardized terms to facilitate effective and precise searching. The recognition of a concept as a MeSH heading affirms its scientific and societal presence. There are many notable additions to the list, including:

  • Decision Making, Shared
  • Duration of Therapy
  • Historical Trauma
  • Military Health
  • Missed Diagnosis
  • Opioid Epidemic
  • Right to Health
  • Weight Prejudice

You can review the full list of terms here on...

MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: MeSH, pubmed

One Click Access to PDFs Piloted in PubMed
Posted On: Wednesday, August 28, 2019 - 13:30 by Beverly Murphy

Have you noticed anything new while searching in PubMed? The Medical Center Library & Archives is piloting LibKey, a product that allows a “one click to PDF” experience in PubMed when users click on the Getit@Duke button.  Based on the Library's holdings and authentication data, this greatly accelerates access to content and minimizes clicks, while ensuring there is no loss in access for the content.

Shorty, we will be retiring the current MedLib Online button in PubMed and will be using LibKey within the Getit@Duke button. We would appreciate your feedback. Please feel free to drop us a line at medical-librarian@duke.edu with an questions or concerns.

MORE

Categories: Alerts, Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: pubmed

New DynaMed Interface
Posted On: Monday, August 12, 2019 - 15:36 by Sarah Cantrell

On August 21, 2019, we transitioned to a new version of DynaMed.

What you need to know 

  • The new DynaMed offers Maintenance of Certification (MOC) credit in addition to the AMA, AAFP, and AANP credits they always offered.

  • For existing DynaMed Plus mobile app users - you will need to download the new DynaMed app. You will be prompted to update the app once you select DynaMed in the...
MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: DynaMed

EndNote and Mac OS Catalina
Posted On: Monday, August 12, 2019 - 11:54 by Sarah Cantrell

Are you using EndNote on a Mac? If so, there are important changes underway! In October, Apple will be releasing the latest macOS 10.15 (also known as Catalina).  With the release of Catalina, Apple will be dropping all 32-bit application support and this will impact EndNote.  EndNote X9 for Mac will be extensively updated for compatibility prior to the launch of Catalina.

What do you need to do?

  • If you already have EndNote X9, please install all updates as they become available to avoid interruption in your workflow. 
  • If you are running EndNote...
MORE

Categories: Alerts, Databases, Resource Updates

Tags: endnote

Link Your Existing UpToDate Account to Duke's Version
Posted On: Thursday, July 11, 2019 - 08:26 by Sarah Cantrell

Are you new to Duke and want to link your existing UpToDate account to Duke's institutional access? Here's what to do!

If access through your previous institution or personal subscription is still active:

You must let this lapse before you can link your account to Duke's institutional access. This will enable you to keep your existing username and password, as well as any accrued Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits. Once it has lapsed, access UpToDate via the Medical Center Library’s Website. Login with your existing username and password. 

If access through your previous...

MORE

Categories: Databases

Tags: UpToDate

Pages